Sign in to your account

Ex: 012345678

Not registered? Create account
This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply
Shahid Beheshti University

About Shahid Beheshti University

General description of the university

Shahid Beheshti University (former National University of Iran) is one of the best public universities in Iran, which was established in 1959, in the north of Tehran, and is located on a land with an area of ​​about 70 hectares. Following the publication of the university’s statutes, the registration of 200 students for the first academic year in two faculties was announced. On 14 February 1961, the opening ceremony of the university was held in the presence of the king of Iran and his wife. The most important development in the history of the university took place in 1974, when the government of that time paid the tuition fees of national (private) educational institutions and made them free with the support of oil revenues. This caused the student structure of the university to be removed from the monopoly of the wealthy and upper class of society and students from different classes and different conditions entered this university through the entrance exam and thus, the university practically became a public university like other universities. After the Islamic Revolution, according to the law approved by the Revolutionary Council, this university was declared a public university (before the Islamic Revolution, it was considered a non-governmental and private university) and in June 1983, the headquarters of the Cultural Revolution agreed to change the name of the university to “Shahid Beheshti”.


Faculty of Literature and Human Sciences, Faculty of Theology and Religions, Faculty of Law, Faculty of Economics and Political Sciences, Faculty of Management and Accounting, Faculty of Educational Sciences and Psychology, Faculty of Sports and Health Sciences, Faculty of Biological Sciences and Technology, Faculty of Earth Sciences, Faculty of Mathematical Sciences, Faculty of Physics, Faculty of Chemical and Petroleum Sciences, Faculty of Architecture and Urban design, Faculty of New Technologies and Aerospace Engineering, Faculty of Mechanical and Energy Engineering, Faculty of Electrical Engineering (Electronics and Telecommunications), Faculty of Electrical Engineering (Control and Power), Faculty of Engineering and Computer Science, Faculty of Civil Engineering, Water and Environment, Faculty of Nuclear Engineering.

Required Documents for University Registration

Bachelor’s Degree: Preparatory Certificate, Passport Copy, Personal Photo

Master’s Degree: Bachelor’s Degree Certificate in English, Passport Copy, Personal Photo

Doctorate Degree: Master’s Degree Certificate with Grades in English, Curriculum Vitae (CV), Proposed Thesis Title, Recommendation Letter(s) from Previous Academic Stage Professors, Personal Photo.


Bachelor’s 8 semesters, Master’s 4 semesters, PhD 8 semesters.

Academic calendar

This university has two admissions per year, in October (Mehr) is the first semester and in February (Bahman) is the second semester.

Persian language course

This university presents Persian courses for non-Persian speakers.

University services

This university has many research institutes, such as Family Research Institute, Environmental Sciences Research Institute, Brain and Cognitive Sciences Research Institute, etc. In addition to holding sports classes in various disciplines, the physical education department of this university pays attention to holding sports competitions every year. This university has a health department, student medical affairs, a counseling service center, and dormitory complexes for singles and married people.

Majors of this university

I want this university Find other
0 0 votes
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
whatsapp icon

Install the Web App