Sign in to your account

Ex: 012345678

Not registered? Create account
This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply
Shiraz University of Medical Sciences

About Shiraz University of Medical Sciences

General description of the university

Almost eight decades ago, the core of Shiraz University of Medical Sciences was formed with the establishment of the Higher Medical institute in 1946 in order to train specialists during four-year courses. In 1949, this institute became a medical College and started working alongside other College of Shiraz University. In 1953, Namazi Higher institute of Nursing was established as the second medical staff training complex; this institute was promoted to nursing faculty in 1976. After this faculty, other faculties of medical sciences were established. Following the approval of the bill for the establishment of the Ministry of Health, Treatment and Medical Education and in order to optimally and harmoniously use medical facilities to provide and generalize health care, treatment, education and research, Shiraz University of Medical Sciences was separated from Shiraz University and since 1994, with the merger of the regional health and treatment organizations of the provinces in universities of medical sciences, this university came into being under the title of University of Medical Sciences and Health Services of Fars Province. Now, Shiraz University of Medical Sciences, with more than 10,000 students and specialized assistants, 91 different fields of study, 782 faculty members and more than 18,000 health, treatment and support personnel, in addition to the education and training of Youth, is also responsible for providing health care in the province. In addition to the desirable quality of education and research, this university provides services to patients and those in need by performing complex therapeutic activities such as liver, heart, kidney transplantation and other advanced treatments, and is active as one of the largest and most prestigious universities in Iran and the Middle East.


Faculty of Health, Faculty of Rehabilitation, Faculty of Nutrition and Food Sciences, Faculty of Medicine, Faculty of Paramedicine, Faculty of Nursing and Midwifery, Faculty of Pharmacy, Faculty of Dentistry, Faculty of Management and Information, Faculty of Science and Research and Modern Medical Technologies, Umm al-Banin Nursing Faculty in Lamard, Hazrat Zahra Faculty of Nursing in Abadeh, Mamasani Paramedical Faculty, Estahban Paramedical Faculty.


Bachelor’s 8 semesters, Master’s 4 semesters, Doctorate 8 semesters. 14 semester professional doctorate. Dentistry 12 semesters. Medicine 10-12 semesters, specialization 6-10 semesters, subspecialty 4-6 semesters.

Academic calendar

This university has two admissions per year, in October (Mehr) is the first semester and in February (Bahman) is the second semester.

Required Documents for University Registration

Bachelor’s Degree: Preparatory Certificate, Passport Copy, Personal Photo

Master’s Degree: Bachelor’s Degree Certificate in English, Passport Copy, Personal Photo

Doctorate Degree: Master’s Degree Certificate with Grades in English, Curriculum Vitae (CV), Proposed Thesis Title, Recommendation Letter(s) from Previous Academic Stage Professors, Personal Photo.

University services

This university has provided accommodation in suites for married and single people and it also organizes sports programs like football, volleyball, basketball, table tennis, chess, swimming, etc. This university includes numerous research institutes and centers, including the Clinical Microbiology Research Center, Shiraz Cancer Research Center, Non-Communicable Disease Research Center, etc. The number of specialized libraries in this university is unique, in addition to the libraries of each faculty, we can mention the library of Dr. Gharib, Ibn Sina, etc.

Majors of this university

I want this university Find other
0 0 votes
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
whatsapp icon

Install the Web App